You are here

LA Phil LIVE Programs

Dudamel Conducts Mendelssohn

Sun OCT 9, 2011  5PM ET / 4PM CT / 3PM MT / 2PM PT

This all-Mendelssohn program features three of the beloved composer's most evocative and romantic works. The vividly descriptive Hebrides Overture and the dashing "Scottish" Symphony are musical souvenirs of Mendelssohn's 1829 vacation in Scotland and the Hebrides islands. Dutch virtuoso Janine Jansen joins Dudamel and the LA Phil for Mendelssohn's passionate Violin Concerto, a work she has recorded to wide acclaim.

Program Notes

Artists

  • MENDELSSOHN: Hebrides Overture
  • MENDELSSOHN: Violin Concerto
  • MENDELSSOHN: "Scottish" Symphony
Gustavo Dudamel
Musicians

Dudamel Conducts Mahler 8

Broadcasts throughout Spring
LIVE from Caracas, Venezuela

Dudamel leads the Los Angeles Philharmonic and the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela, combined with multiple choirs and soloists in Mahler's 8th, "Symphony of a Thousand," the apotheosis of the Romantic symphony. This live performance will put more than 1,000 musicians on the stage in Caracas, Venezuela, giving North American audiences a chance to witness Dudamel making music on his home turf. Enhanced behind-the-scenes content will include special footage from Caracas.

This exceptional presentation is the climactic performance of The Mahler Project – one of the highlights of the LA Phil's season – which features the complete symphonic cycle presented in both Los Angeles and Caracas.

Program Notes

Artists

  • MAHLER: Symphony No. 8

US Encore Broadcast on February 29

Click here to see a list of theatres that will be rebroadcasting this program on Wednesday, February 29 at 7pm, local time.

Dudamel and Herbie Hancock Celebrate Gershwin

Sun MAR 18, 2012 2PM Local Time

Pre-recorded from the LA Phil's 2011-12 season Opening Night Concert at Walt Disney Concert Hall, this program includes some of the composer's best-loved works including the Cuban Overture, An American in Paris, and Rhapsody in Blue, as well as intimate solo improvisations by Hancock on Embraceable You and Someone to Watch Over Me. The event also features exclusive footage of Hancock – the LA Phil's Creative Chair for Jazz – in his home, playing Gershwin and providing insights into his improvisational process.

Artists

  • GERSHWIN: Cuban Overture
  • GERSHWIN: Rhapsody in Blue
  • GERSHWIN: An American in Paris
Herbie Hancock and Gustavo Dudamel