Bychkov and the Labèques

Last Modified:

About This Performance

Ravel’s vibrant tribute to the land of his mother is heard in its original form for two pianos.

Though he did not start studying music formally until he was 20, Swiss composer Richard Dubugnon has quickly made up for lost time, garnering prizes, awards, performances and recordings at the highest level. His new Concerto is written specifically for the Labèque sisters.

In his Symphonic Dances (1940), Rachmaninoff summarized his compositional output, reflecting his characteristic late style, with its curious, shifting harmonies and its focus on instrumental colors (he uses the solo alto saxophone here for the only time in his career). Drawing on his previous compositions and ecclesiastical chants, the three-movement orchestral suite also combines energetic rhythmic sections with some of the composer’s lushest melodies. Originally titled Fantastic Dances (with movements called “Noon,” “Twilight” and “Midnight”), it was premiered by Eugene Ormandy and the Philadelphia Orchestra, its dedicatees, in 1941.

**TRAFFIC ADVISORY – PLEASE NOTE** Grand Avenue will be closed between 2nd and 3rd Street from Friday, November 11 through 10am on Sunday, November 13. The Walt Disney Concert Hall garage entrance on 2nd Street will remain accessible southbound from Grand and northbound from Hope. The garage entrance on Lower Grand will not be affected. The southbound lane on Grand Avenue will remain open for valet.

Programs, artists, dates, prices and availability subject to change.

Upbeat Live: pre-concert talks

  • Friday, November 11, 2011 - 7:00pm

Christopher Russell

Christopher Russell interviews Richard Dubugnon about the world premiere of his Concerto for Two Pianos and Double Orchestra, "Battlefiled" Op. 54