You are here

From Lullaby to Dance

Walt Disney Concert Hall

Last Modified:


About This Performance

Jacob’s Dream is dance music, composed for the Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival in Massachusetts. Milhaud went with the Jacob idea, and wrote a five-movement suite for oboe and strings depicting some of the stories in Genesis, including Jacob’s Ladder and his fight with an angel. (The oboe represents the voice of God.)

Come for:

Three 20th-century pieces by versatile, poly-stylistic composers with strong vernacular roots.

And more:

Don’t miss the pre-concert wine reception!


SCHUBERT Quartettsatz
Robert Gupta, violin  
Jin-Shan Dai, violin
Ben Ullery, viola
David Garrett, cello

Mischa Lefkowitz, violin
Minyoung Chang, violin
Michael Larco, viola
Jason Lippmann, cello

MILHAUD The Dreams of Jacob
Ingrid Chun, violin
Ingrid Hutman, viola
Gloria Lum, cello
Marion Kuszyk, oboe
Peter Rofe, bass


SCHUBERT String Quartet No. 14, D. 810 "Death and the Maiden"
Bing Wang, violin
Johnny Lee, violin
Hui Liu, viola
Jason Lippmann, cello

Programs, artists, dates, prices and availability subject to change.

Traffic Advisory

Construction around Walt Disney Concert Hall may affect your drive. Click here for details.