Skip to page content


Dylan Mattingly is the founding executive and co-artistic director of Contemporaneous, and was previously the co-director of Formerly Known as Classical, a new music ensemble whose members play only music written in their lifetimes. Among the ensembles and performers who have commissioned Mattingly are the Cabrillo Festival Orchestra, the Berkeley Symphony, the Del Sol String Quartet, John Adams, Marin Alsop, Sarah Cahill, and many others. Mattingly was the Musical America “New Artist of the Month” for February 2013. In 2016, he was awarded the Charles Ives Scholarship by the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Mattingly also received both the Ezra Laderman Prize and the Philip Francis Nelson Prize from the Yale School of Music in 2016. Among the other awards Mattingly has won include the first prize in the 2011 New York Art Ensemble Young Composer’s Competition, 2010 First Prize for Composition from the Pacific Musical Society, The 2009 Helen C. Elliot Award for Composition from the Pacific Musical Society, Finalist in the ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer’s Award in 2010 and 2012, and a Finalist in Orpheus Chamber Orchestra and WQXR’s “Project 440.”