Chamber Music Society

Last Modified:


About This Performance

Histoire du soldat (The Soldier’s Tale) is a cautionary fable about the devil, a soldier, and a fiddle. Stravinsky intended a highly portable production so it calls for only seven instruments: violin, double bass, clarinet, bassoon, cornet, trombone, and percussion, plus three actors and a dancer. The music is virtuosic, rife with changing time signatures, and highly original. A full performance takes about an hour.


SHOSTAKOVICH Piano Trio No. 1, Op. 8

    Mark Kashper, violin

    Barry Gold, cello

    Kanae Matsumoto, piano


STRAVINSKY Histoire du soldat

    Robert Gupta, violin

    David Howard, clarinet

    Whitney Crockett, bassoon

    Chris Still, trumpet

    James Miller, trombone

    Oscar Meza, bass

    Perry Dreiman, percussion

    Bennett Schneider, narrators

    David Afkham, conductor

Programs, artists, dates, prices and availability subject to change.