Skip to page content

Esa-Pekka Salonen and the San Francisco Symphony

Fri / Mar 22, 2024 - 8:00PM

Salonen leads the San Francisco Symphony in John Adams’ massive orchestral exploration, plus violinist Lisa Batiashvili performs Sibelius’ dramatic concerto.

No Longer Available

About this Performance

Esa-Pekka Salonen and the San Francisco Symphony come to Los Angeles for a one-night-only performance, featuring John Adams’ Naïve and Sentimental Music—originally dedicated to and premiered by Salonen—a work that combines the scale and scope of a Bruckner symphony with Adams’ free-flowing and expressive minimalist language. Gramophone praised Lisa Batiashvili’s ability to tell a story through inventive phrasing and range of color that keeps the listener perpetually “in the moment.” The violinist joins Salonen for one of her specialties, Sibelius’ beloved concerto.

See other concerts in this series

Programs, artists, dates, prices, and availability subject to change. Ticket limits may apply. All sales are final.