Skip to page content

Ravel & Brahms

Schoenberg at 150 Festival

Fri / Feb 14, 2025 - 8:00PM

Seong-Jin Cho returns for Ravel’s joyful Concerto in G, and Paavo Järvi leads a Brahms quartet lovingly orchestrated by Schoenberg.


About this Performance

The Wall Street Journal describes South Korean pianist Seong-Jin Cho as poised to take his place among the greats of the past “not only for his bulletproof technique, but also for his artistic voice [and] his sense of drama.” Cho joins the LA Phil for Ravel’s Concerto in G, one of the pianist’s favorite works, which he describes as a continuous dialog between piano and orchestra.

Grammy Award-winning conductor Paavo Järvi leads the LA Phil first in Bacewicz’ Concerto for String Orchestra, which combines approachable classical melodies with more modern harmonic ideas. Järvi closes the program with Brahms’ Piano Quartet arranged for orchestra. Schoenberg adored Brahms’ original but felt it was rarely performed well as chamber music, leading him to transform the piece into an orchestral version—given its world premiere by the LA Phil—that brings out Brahms’ shifting variations and colors.

See other concerts in this series

Programs, artists, dates, prices, and availability subject to change. Ticket limits may apply. All sales are final.