Skip to page content

Beryl Korot and Steve Reich

About this Artist

Steve Reich

STEVE REICH (b. 1936) has been called “America’s greatest living composer” (The Village VOICE), “...the most original musical thinker of our time” (The New Yorker), and “...among the great composers of the century” (The New York Times). His music has influenced composers and mainstream musicians all over the world. Music for 18 Musicians and Different Trains have earned him two Grammys, and in 2009 his Double Sextet won the Pulitzer Prize. His documentary video opera works – The Cave and Three Tales, done in collaboration with video artist Beryl Korot – have been performed on four continents. His  latest work Quartet, for percussionist Colin Currie, sold out two consecutive concerts at Queen Elizabeth Hall in London shortly after tens of thousands at the Glastonbury Festival heard Jonny Greenwood (of Radiohead) perform Electric Counterpoint followed by the London Sinfonietta performing his Music for 18 Musicians. In 2012 he was awarded the Gold Medal in Music by the American Academy of Arts and letters. Earlier he won the Preamium Imperale in Tokyo, the Polar Prize in Stockholm, the BBVA Award in Madrid, and recently the Golden Lion at the Biennale de Venzia. He has been named Commandeur de l’ordre des Arts et lettres and has been awarded honorary doctorates by the Juilliard School, the Liszt Academy in Budapest, and the New England Conservatory of Music, among others. “There's just a handful of living composers who can legitimately claim to have altered the direction of musical history and Steve Reich is one of them,” states The Guardian.

Beryl Korot

BERYL KOROT is a pioneer of video art and of multiple channel work in particular. She was co-editor of Radical Software (1970), the first publication to discuss the possibilities of the new video medium. Her first multiple channel works (Dachau 1974 and Text and Commentary) have been exhibited at The Kitchen (1975), Leo Castelli Gallery (1977), Documenta 6 (1977), the Whitney Museum (1980 and 2002), The Carnegie Museum (1990), The Aldrich Museum (2010), The Whitworth Gallery (2013), Museum Abteiberg (2013, Art Fair Basel, ICA Boston, and Tate Modern (2014). Her painted text-based handwoven canvases in an original language were exhibited in 1986 at the John Weber Gallery and in 1990 at the Carnegie Museum. Two collaborations with Steve Reich (The Cave, 1993, and Three Tales, 2002) brought video installation art into a theatrical context. Both works continue to be performed throughout the world and were exhibited as video installations at such venues as the Whitney Museum, the Carnegie Museum, the Reina Sofia, the Dusseldorf Kunstverein, and ZKM. In 2010 a mini retrospective of her work was exhibited for 6 months at The Aldrich Museum.

Korot’s work is in both private and public collections. Text and Commentary was recently acquired by the Museum of Modern Art (NYC) and Dachau 1974 is in the Kramlich Collection’s New Art Trust shared by SF MOMA, NY MOMA, and Tate Modern. She is a Guggenheim Fellow (1994) and recipient of numerous grants including The National Endowment for the Arts and Anonymous Was a Woman (2008). In 2000 she was a Montgomery Fellow at Dartmouth College.