Skip to page content

Arnold Schoenberg


About this Artist

Born: 1874, Vienna, Austria
Died: 1951, Los Angeles

Arnold Schoenberg’s first major works, Transfigured Night and Gurrelieder, were in the Late Romantic style, but his musical vocabulary gradually moved towards atonalism. After World War I, Schoenberg began developing a system of composition that caused a paradigm shift in western music, his “twelve-tone” or serial system, so called because it used a serial arrangement of all twelve tones of the western scale as the thematic basis of a composition.