Skip to page content


Winner of the 2018 Sir Georg Solti Conducting Award from the U.S Solti Foundation, RODERICK COX was named the Minnesota Orchestra’s Associate Conductor in September 2016 for a two-year period, following a year in which he served as the ensemble’s Assistant Conductor. Before arriving in Minnesota, he served for two years as Assistant Conductor of the Alabama Symphony Orchestra and Music Director of the Alabama Symphony Youth Orchestra. 

Roderick was awarded the Robert J. Harth Conducting Prize from the Aspen Music Festival in 2013, which led to national recognition and a return to the Festival as a Fellow. He has also held fellowships with the Chicago Sinfonietta as part of their Project Inclusion program and the Chautauqua Music Festival, where he was a David Effron Conducting Fellow. 

Highlights among recent engagements as a guest conductor included a subscription concert debut with the Minnesota Orchestra and debut concerts with the Cleveland Orchestra, Seattle Symphony, and Santa Fe Symphony orchestras, as well as at the Lanaudière Festival with the Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal and at the Grant Park Festival in Chicago. Roderick also conducted a performance sponsored by Google and the Color of Music Festival for the opening of the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & Culture in Washington, D.C. 

In 2018/19, Roderick will make his debut performance in these subscription concerts with the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra and Cameron Carpenter, at the Manhattan School of Music conducting Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9, and his opera debut with Houston Grand Opera in January 2019 in performances of Bizet’s Les pêcheurs de perles.