Skip to page content

Play Your Part, support the LA Phil.  Your belief in the power of music to heal and transform makes our work possible. Give Now

${{ price.displayPrice }}
Give Now

Please select a donation amount.

About this Piece

Trivium (1976), a three-part organ composition, is named after three of the seven liberal arts in Medieval education (grammar, logic, and rhetoric). Although the three parts are made distinct by loudness and registration, as well as more dissonance in the middle section, it remains in D minor and in the same tempo. By pairing the harmonies into an unrelentingly repeated rhythmic idea, single pulses follow longer (or sometimes equal) durations throughout.