Skip to page content
  • WDCH
  • Los Angeles Philharmonic 2009/10 Chamber Music Society Series Continues With Special Appearance by Acclaimed Pianist André Watts
  • Jan. 12, 2010
  • Program features works by Mozart, Bottesini and Schickele

    TUESDAY, JANUARY 12, 2010, AT 8 PM

    The Los Angeles Philharmonic’s 2009/10 Chamber Music Society series continues with a performance on Tuesday, January 12, 2010, featuring members of the Los Angeles Philharmonic and acclaimed pianist André Watts, performing Mozart’s Quintet for Piano and Winds in E-flat, K. 452.  Members of the Los Angeles Philharmonic also perform Bottesini’s Gran Duo Concertante and Schickele’s String Sextet.

    The evening commences with Bottesini’s Gran Duo Concertante.  Like many of the concertos and ensemble works composed by Bottesini, Gran Duo Concertante exists in multiple versions.  He originally composed the work in 1880 as a sort of duo concerto, for two basses and orchestra. The violin virtuoso Ernesto Camillo Sivori (1815-1894) adapted it for violin and bass.  This evening’s version is performed by members of the Los Angeles Philharmonic on violin and bass with pianist Kevin Fitz-Gerald.

    The incorrigibly eclectic, stylistically peripatetic American composer Peter Schickele may be best known for his “discoveries” of the work of P.D.Q. Bach, but he has an equally varied and extensive catalog of music under his own brand. He studied with A-list mid-century composers – Roy Harris, Darius Milhaud, Vincent Persichetti and William Bergsma – but was also prominently influenced by the Everly Brothers and Spike Jones. The String Sextet that Schickele composed in 1990 represents this mixture of genres veering from manic to measured, from jazz fusion to a bluesy country waltz, with severe contrasts of tempo and texture.

    Concluding the evening is Mozart’s Quintet for Piano and Winds in E-Flat, K. 452 featuring lauded pianist André Watts.  A few days after the work’s premiere on April 1, 1784, Mozart pronounced it “The best thing I have ever written,” to his father Leopold.  While one might question the composer’s evaluation of this ingratiating charmer, another vote of confidence came from no less than Ludwig van Beethoven, who modeled his own Op. 16 Quintet upon the work in 1797.

    The LA Phil’s 2009/10 Chamber Music Society series offers eight distinct programs throughout the season, including concerts with renowned soloists such as Piotr Anderszewski (Jan. 26), Lars Vogt (Mar. 16), and Emanuel Ax (Mar. 30). Additional dates with members of the Los Angeles Philharmonic are February 16 and April 6.


    TUESDAY, JANUARY 12, 2010, AT 8 PM


    111 S. Grand Avenue, Los Angeles

    Chamber Music Society


    ANDRÉ WATTS, piano

    BOTTESINI Gran Duo Concertante

    Robert Vijay Gupta, violin

    Dennis Trembly, bass

    Kevin Fitz-Gerald, piano

    SCHICKELE String Sextet

    Barry Socher, violin

    Camille Avellano, violin

    Ingrid Hutman, viola

    Meredith Snow, viola

    Daniel Rothmuller, cello

    Jonathan Karoly, cello

    MOZART Quintet for Piano and Winds, K. 452

    Ariana Ghez, oboe

    Michele Zukovsky, clarinet

    Shawn Mouser, bassoon

    William Lane, horn

    André Watts, piano

    Tickets ($26 - $51) are on sale now at the Walt Disney Concert Hall Box Office, online at, or via credit card by phone at 323.850.2000. A limited number of $10 rush tickets for seniors and full time students may be available at the Walt Disney Concert Hall box office two hours prior to the performance. Valid identification is required; one ticket per person; cash only. Groups of 12 or more may be eligible for special discounts for selected concerts and seating areas. For information, please call 323.850.2000.

    # # #

  • Contact:

    Sophie Jefferies,, 213.972.3422; Lisa Bellamore,, 213.972.3689; Photos: 213.972.3034