Adams & Glass

Conductor John Adams leads a world premiere by his fellow composer Philip Glass to celebrate our Centennial.


  • Gabriella SMITH : Tumblebird Contrails
  • John ADAMS : Grand Pianola Music
  • Intermission
  • Philip GLASS : Symphony No. 12, Lodger, from the music of David Bowie and Brian Eno (world premiere, LA Phil commission with generous support from Lenore S. and Bernard A. Greenberg)


  • Los Angeles Philharmonic
  • John Adams conductor
  • Marc-André Hamelin piano
  • Orli Shaham piano
  • Angelique Kidjo vocalist
  • James McVinnie organ
  • Zanaida Robles soprano
  • Holly Sedillos soprano
  • Kristen Toedtman mezzo-soprano

About This Performance

Adams’ over-the-top Grand Pianola Music precedes a major premiere, composed for our Centennial by Minimalist icon Philip Glass, his third symphony based on David Bowie’s Berlin Trilogy.

Pre-Concert Talk: Upbeat Live
With Sarah Cahill – 7pm
Enhance your concert experience with a pre-concert talk starting at 7pm. Upbeat Live provides historical and cultural context for many concerts, featuring engaging speakers, audio examples, and special guests. These events are free to ticket holders and are held in BP Hall, on the second floor, accessible after your ticket is scanned. 

Programs, artists, dates, prices and availability subject to change.

Program Support