Skip to page content

A Musical Portrait: Price and Bonds

Rock My Soul Festival

Sun / Nov 6, 2022 - 2:00PM

Explore the musical voices of and relationship between Florence Price and Margaret Bonds.

Masks are required for all guests. Read more about our safety policies.


  • PRICE Retrospection for Organ
  • PRICE The Oak
  • PRICE Symphony No. 4 in D minor
  • PRICE Selected Songs
  • PRICE Selected Works for Solo Piano
  • PRICE (arr. Michael-Thomas FOUMAI) A Piece for Solo Piano and Orchestra, after Florence Price’s Fantasie nègre No. 1 (world premiere, LA Phil commission)
  • Intermission
  • BONDS (arr. by Jannina NORPOTH) Selected Songs
  • BONDS Selections from Montgomery Variations
  • PRICE Organ Suite No. 1

About this Performance

As two Black women composers working in the 1930s, unrecognized and unsupported by their field and the country in which they lived, Florence Price and Margaret Bonds forged a lasting relationship as mentor and student, as musical collaborators, as champions of one another’s art, and as friends. Both Bonds and Price would set numerous “firsts” as milestones in their careers, writing with distinct musical vocabularies that blended their Western classical training with African American styles and forms, and championing messages of Black acceptance and pride in the United States. From art songs to solo showpieces and symphonic excerpts, Julia Bullock curates an evening showcasing the enduring musical voices of Price and Bonds.

The Rock My Soul festival is generously supported in part by Margaret Morgan and Wesley Phoa.

See other concerts in this series

Programs, artists, dates, prices, and availability subject to change.